In today’s market, there are actually hundreds of gemstones to choose from. The list of gemstones below will discuss the difference between a precious stone and a semi-precious stone, in addition, to guiding you to where the gemstone treatments are discussed.

What Is A Precious Stone?

What’s the difference between precious stones and semi-precious jewels? These terms are based on old traditions from the west. These days, all gemstones are considered precious simply because they’re all uncommon and there is a restricted supply of those.

The standard listing of gemstones that are considered precious stones are:
  • Diamond
  • Ruby
  • Sapphire
  • Emerald

All other gemstones are considered as being semi-precious stones. All these are previous terms and not always accurate these days.

A List Of Precious and Semi Precious Stones

Precious and Semi Precious Gemstones